The Eastern Slope Ski Club

Eastern Slope Ski Club was founded in 1935. The basic philosophy of the Club is to promote skiing in the Mt. Washington Valley and give all children in the valley the opportunity to participate in the sport. Some children take this for granted and have been brought up skiing, others would never be able to enjoy the sport were it not for this program. The ski club provides skiing for all school children in grades 1-6 and equipment if needed.

ESSC Board of Directors, Coordinators, & Committee Chairs

Executive Committee

Mark Porter, President

Lauren Hawkins, Vice President

Brian Kelsch, Treasurer

Donna Fresco, Recording Secretary

Matt Stearns, Membership Secretary

Kelly Tonkery, Corresponding Secretary

Craig Niiler, Past President

Coordinators & Committee Chairs

Jenn Gibson, Junior Program Coordinator

Karen Dolan, Jr. Program Chair

Steve Vosburgh, Nordic Coordinator

Mike Lynch, Equipment Manager

Herbert Schneider, Honorary Director Emeritus (1920 – 2012)

Board Members

Nate Harvey

Stefan Karnopp

Jon Eldridge

Tristan Lovecky

Lisa McCoy

Kara Couture

Mary Miller

Susan Powers

Dan Houde

Tom Baptist

Nate Waterhouse

ESSC School & Mountain Representatives


John Fuller: Brendan Battenfelder & Lauren Frye

Conway El: Darcy Kane

Pine Tree: Leah Kelsch & Alice Jones

Bartlett: Vance Pickering & Jess James

Jackson: Neil Stokes

Madison: Holly Crockett

Freedom: Kim Stephen & Jen Brown

Tamworth: Teresa Fournier

Robert Frost: Rebekah Bushey

Northeast Woodland: Nick Robbins


Cranmore: Mary Miller

Attitash: Zachary Kirchner

King Pine: Chris Setchell

Black Mountain: John Fichera

Get Involved

If you are interested in volunteering for junior program contact the school or school rep directly.